Life is too Short to be Unfulfilled at Work

Take control of your future and align your work with your true self.

Being fulfilled at work…

Touchy, touchy subject. 

With layoffs happening and society undergoing complex changes, finding a place to work where you're happy is more important than ever because one thing is for sure: Losing your job isn't happy.

I’m not sure if it’s just a gripe that people feel they need to say, but there are a lot of people who tell me they hate their jobs. 

Are you fulfilled? 

Like, really… do you love your job?

Some people do, and that's awesome. I love that for you.

But I'll speak to my past self here to reach a point. 

One thing I didn't realize would become a problem when I was starting out as a software engineer was the 'assembly line' mentality coming down the line from some companies. 

Not tech companies but standard, regular companies that are Fortune 30 in size and revenue, where technology is how they interface with their customers, not what they produce. If that makes sense.

I became an SE to be a digital artisan, artist, and architect. Fueling my creativity and curiosity. 

But one job made me feel like I was constantly giving but not getting anything in return, even though the salary was nice. 

I was giving:

  • time and life energy

  • creativity

  • dedication

  • loyalty

  • knowledge 

  • awesome ideas 

  • sleepless nights

for… 

a paycheck and some health benefits.

Now, I know some managers will say, 'But you're getting a paycheck; that's your "return." But if you think that, I'm sure your team hates you; they just don't tell you. 

When people genuinely care about what they're working on, they produce better work.

When there’s a more profound meaning and they believe in the purpose, they generate better quality. 

"Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work."

Aristotle

Sometimes money is the answer, but when you get a comfortable salary, you need more than just money. 

Money only takes care of the lowest tiers of the hierarchy of needs: 

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

But to feel entirely fulfilled, and in turn, give our all…

we need more. 

Now, the "return" can be many different things, including:

Belonging:

  • Camaraderie

  • Team interaction

  • Socialization

Esteem:

  • Awards

  • Accomplishments

  • Recognition

Self-actualization: 

  • Learning & Growing

  • Creativity

  • Moving towards your full potential. 

But the main drive, I believe, is growing towards being who you want to be in the future. It's the fulfillment of those higher tiers of needs that people look for in a career. 

For instance…

Would you take a job that made you absolutely hate your life every day for 25% more than what you're making right now? 

Would you take a job that pays you 25% less but would teach you everything you desire to learn, grow, and achieve your life goals?

I know what I would choose. 

Since I've been out of the employment realm for a bit, I'm starting to see things differently. 

Jobs suck, but not just because they do… they suck for specific reasons, and those reasons come down to one's perception. Which means anything can suck. But you have to change your mindset and use the suck as an opportunity to learn skills that will support you in the future.

A shit job that you hate because you're not learning (at least not what you want to be learning), you feel like you're actually getting worse at your craft but pays you six figures may be a godsend to someone that doesn't have the same experience you do, needs to help their family out overseas and is new to the U.S. 

If you hate your job, you have to ask yourself:

“Why exactly do I hate my job?”

It's typically something small like having to come into the office or be part of release calls on the weekends, and they never go as they should. 😒

Sometimes, it's more complex issues like poor leadership or a culture that feels completely hopeless and void of creativity. 

Sometimes, it's just because you feel undervalued and as if your opinions aren't heard or valued. 

Solution Ideas

It comes down to who you want to be.

So, who is it that you want to be? What are your long-term dreams and ambitions?

  • You may want to influence and teach others. 

  • You may want to be the star of the show. 

  • You may want to discover incredible stories and share them with the world. 

  • Maybe you want to comment on the crazy things humans do and put them online. 

  • You could help the less fortunate.

Whatever it is, if you feel like your job sucks, you have to figure out who you are now and who you want to be for the next few years. 

Really think about it. 

Then, look at your current role and see if you can find a path to achieve your goals. 

  • If not there, then on a different team. 

  • If not there, continue higher up. Maybe a different department. 

  • Maybe a different role altogether. 

If you can't find it anywhere in your current career path or in the company. It's time to make some tough decisions. 

I remember when I used to work on the Homes.com website a long time ago. We had a great team. My mentor at the time (she's still killing it now) taught me to be a monster at coding. We had a great lunch crew. I ate great food every day on the best strip of restaurants in the area. 

I left there for a job that was the complete opposite. The lunch break was like a cafeteria-style mess hall; the application code was a mess, but the team was awesome. Which kept me there for so long. It was probably the biggest mistake of my career.

But my point is, against my mentor's advice, I took the job for the money and eventually allowed myself to lose my passion for coding. It's a damn shame. So I know from first-hand experience that money isn't everything. 

Now, I'm older and wiser and want to influence young people, teach them from my experiences, and help them achieve great things. 

So, should I get back into a traditional employment situation, I will be sure the organization can help me accomplish my goals and ambitions. No matter how much money the position offers, it's not worth it if I hate the work or environment.

Start Somewhere

If. you’re unhappy, start inquiring about moving around in your current organization. See if there's a fit. Post on social media about the challenges you face in your role and the solutions you’ve discovered for them. At least that way, you’re journaling your journey and helping others simultaneously.

If you're super unhappy, start interviewing at other places just to see what happens. There’s no harm in keeping your options open.

You have to be passionate about what you do. Otherwise, you start looking like excess weight to the people who trim the fat… 👀

Trust me, when the budget cuts start happening, if you're seen as one of the 'unhappy ones,' then you can get clipped. No matter how long you've been there. 

Here are some questions I'm going to ask in my next interview:

  • What mentorship and training will I be able to implement?

  • What will be my scope of influence?

  • What are the feedback systems here, and what are the metrics of action > implementation?

  • Are managers here cultivated from the dev teams?

  • How do you view entrepreneurship, and what systems do you have to support it here?

  • What systems do you have in place for feedback regarding the leadership team?

  • What is the process for submitting, starting, and funding internal business ideas here?

I strongly believe that a place of employment should help you define your career path and support you with steps to implement it. Even if it takes you out of the company or assists you with entrepreneurial ventures. 

A friend told me Lululemon is like that. They'll even invest in your ideas if they align with the company vision. Which is incredible. 

So don't sell yourself short. 

Find a fit and make a change

Life's too short to be unhappy

PS 

If you haven't read my book, take a look. It's free! What do you have to lose!

If you need a mentor, someone to bounce ideas off of, or some help brainstorming an idea. Contact me on LinkedIn. Stop playing!

Lastly, 

So what do you think? Should I keep posting once a week? Or Move it to once every two weeks? 

Have a great rest of your week!